Travel Facts

ETHIOPIA is located northeastern horn of Africa, with a total area of 1.098million square kms. Its land locked country , bounded by east by Djibouti, and Somalia,south Kenya, west sudan and north by Eritrea.

Great African rift valley dissects Ethiopia into western and eastern highlands and comprises 60% of the total land and rift valley with east and west coastal low lands 40% of the land. The altitude difference i4620mts above sea level at ras dashen and the lowest point is 116mts below sea level in Danakil depression .

In Ethiopia there are three climate zones; tropical rainy climate, dry climate, and temperate rainy climate. In it could be classified dray and wet season. The dry season prevail from October to may and the wet season will be may to September.

The population of Ethiopia is estimated around 80million and it embraces four main language group which is Semitic, Cushitic, Omotic, and Nilo Sahra. Ethiopian people speaks more than 83 languages with 200 dialects. Amharic is official language and is Educational media.

45% Christian, 45% Muslim and 10% animist

More than 80% of the population are farmers live in rural countryside and the rest in the town majority work trading.

Ethiopia is in GMT +3 HOUR time zone and timing is a 12hour clock system but way of counting 12hrs during the day, morning to evening and 12hrs during the night evening to morning. Note as Ethiopia is found in the tropic there is no time difference night and day in all seasons.

Ethiopia is still retaining with Julian calendar system , which is 71/2 year behind the Gregorian calendar. The year begins in September 11. One physical year has 12months with 30 days and 1month with 5 or 6 days [totally 13monthes].

 380/220 volts 50 cycles AC.

Visa are required for all foreign visitors and could be obtained from diplomatic office and consular mission abroad. But visitors from listed below countries could obtain inAddis Ababa bole air port upon arrival.

The local currency is Birr. There is no limitation importing foreign currency but could be declared upon arrival at customs, which helps to change at authorized bank, hotel or dealer and to take it back the remaining.

Prior to entry visitors has obtain valid certificate to yellow fever and vaccination against cholera required if you are coming from cholera infected area with in six days prior arrival.

Duty free imports which are permitted , 200cigarettes, 1lit of alcoholic beverage ,1/2lit of perfume. Visitors to export souvenirs with a value not exceed 500.00 birr and antique souvenirs needs declaration from national museum in Addis.

Amharic is the official language of Ethiopia, although English, Italian, French and Arabic are also widely spoken. Outside the larger cities and towns, indigenous languages are likely to be spoken - of which there are over eighty, along with some 200 dialects. The most common of these are Oromo, Tigrinya and Somali.
In the northern and central parts Ethiopia different Semitic languages are spoken. Namely Tigre, Tiginrya, Guraginya and the official national language Amharic. The root of these languages, Ge'ez, only survives today in church liturgy and literature.

The Sidama languages are spoken to the south-east and to the east and parts of the south are the Cushitic-speaking peoples of the Oromos, the Afars and the Somalis.To the west and south-west are the Nilotic peoples with their own distinctive language and culture.

In other areas of the country there are smaller communities whose cultures, languages and traditions derive from different facets of Ethiopia's long history.

Ethiopian Facts
Ethnic groups: Oromo 40%, Amhara and Tigre 32%, Sidamo 9%, Shankella 6%, Somali 6%, Afar 4%, Gurage 2%, other 1%.

Ethiopia is an independent Federal Democratic Republic with a President as head of state and a Prime Minister as the head of government. The constitution was established in 1994, following the over-throw of the Mengistu military dictatorship in 1991.

A federation comprising nine-states with considerable autonomy were established and the first multiparty elections were held in 1995. The distinct regional states are – Tigray, Afar, Amhara, Oromia, Somali, Benishangul-Gumuz, Southern Nations (SNNPS), Gambella and Harari.

Visitors should be sensitive about intrusive photography, people should be asked for permission before their photographs are taken. Generally, there will not be any objection but in some areas, particularly among nomads, among Afar and in the Omo Valley, people will often ask for money. Photography in churches is allowed, but in many areas of tourist interest, particularly in the north, there is a charge for video photography. (This also applies to the Blue Nile Falls.) As elsewhere, there are laws and regulations about taking photographs in sensitive areas like airports and around military camps.

Image Gallery

pix pix pix pix pix pix


“More interesting to stay longer in Omorate
Omorate tribal village and at Turkana lake , which is less touristy. Guide: very positive, attentive, considerate and helpful. Very efficient, dependable. Good attention to detail. We were well taken care. We would highly recommend Host Ethiopia Tour....”

Tourist From Australia


Mob: + (251) 911 - 468110
Tel:  + (251) 118 - 500304
P.o.Box: 29934

Address: Addis Ababa , Ethiopia